Interview with Novelist, Rosemary Morris

Rosemary Morris - Small photo

Hi Rosemary, welcome to my blog. I see you write romantic historical fiction, what made you decide to write in this particular genre?

Thank you for your welcome.

Since childhood I have taken an exceptional interest in history. As I grew older, I enjoyed famous classics such as Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice. Gone With the Wind captivated my imagination and amongst many others, I enjoyed Georgette Heyer’s, Sergeanne Golon’s, Immokalee’s and Elizabeth Goudge’s historical fiction.

Tell me a little about your writing day…

I wake at 6 a.m., check my e-mails, visit a couple of on line groups and then work on my latest novel until 10 a.m. After lunch at 1 p.m. I work for an hour and if I am not otherwise engaged, work from somewhere between 4 and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Which books have most influenced your life and why?

As well as historical fiction and non-fiction, the philosophy in The Bhagavadgita As It Is by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, the enthralling epics The Mahabharat and The Ramayan and King James’ Bible with its rich language.

Can you remember when you first started writing?

By the age of five my head was full of unwritten stories. As soon as I could put written sentences together, I began writing.

Could you tell people a little about your latest release please?

Morris-FalsePretenses2-are.jpg

False Pretences, in which little is as it seems, is set in the ever-popular Regency era. The heroine, Annabelle, arrives at boarding school at the age of five, ignorant of either her family’s identity or her guardian’s. When Annabelle is eighteen, her headmistress informs her that her guardian has arranged for her to marry a French baron more than twice her age. She refuses, runs away and is rescued from a foot pad by a heroic gentleman.

What are your hero and heroine like in this particular book?

Annabelle is beautiful, courageous and spirited. She is also loyal but impulsive. When scandal threatens the charismatic gentleman who saved her, she runs away for the second time to preserve his reputation. He appreciates Annabelle’s innocence.

To protect Annabelle’s good name, when they put up at an inn, the hero arranges for a maid to share her bedchamber.

The hero, is much more than, as the saying goes, ‘a fine figure of a man’ in his well-cut clothes.

He is committed to helping Annabelle find out who her family are. Nevertheless, is he all that he seems to be, or is he guilty of false pretences? If he is how will Annabelle react?

Are there any villains in this novel?

Yes, but I am not going to spoil the reader’s enjoyment of False Pretences by revealing their identities.

Do you outline your books before you begin writing or do you write very much by the seat-of-your-pants?

I don’t outline my books, but before I begin a novel I complete detailed character profiles of my main characters. By the time I write the first paragraph I know them better than I know my neighbours.

What was the hardest part of writing this book?

Tying up the loose ends and bringing the tale of times past to an end which would completely satisfy the readers.

What was your favourite part of this book to write and why?

When Annabelle sits to have her portrait painted she wears the clothes, shoes and wig of a lady at the ill-fated Queen Marie-Antoinette’s court. There is a poignancy in the scene, which is relevant to the novel and brought tears to my eyes.

Did you have a particular theme running throughout your book or any of your other books?

There are strong themes in each of my novels. In False Pretences a child is desperate to discover why she has been abandoned by her unknown family. In The Captain and The Countess, the theme is the position of women in the early 18th century. Unless they were widows of independent means, they were subject to their male relatives or husbands. Each Morris-CaptainCountess2-AReof my forthcoming novels and my new novel have strong themes.

Is there a message in your novel that you hope readers will understand?

The need for an abandoned child to trace her family.

Do you have any plans for any future novels?

The second editions of my novels Far Beyond Rubies and Tangled Love set in the reign of Queen Anne Stuart 1702 -1714, and those set in the Regency era, Sunday’s Child and Monday’s Child will be published in the near future by Books We Love.

At the moment I am editing Tuesday’s Child and thinking about Wednesday’s Child, which I look forward to writing.

The story in each novel with a title take from the days of the week, will be independent of the others, but linked by one character.

If you couldn’t be an author, what would your ideal career be?

I grow my own organic herbs, fruit and vegetables, which I put to good use in my vegetarian cuisine, so my ideal career would be connected to these interests.

What is your preferred method to have readers get in touch with or follow you (i.e., website, personal blog, Facebook page, here on Goodreads, etc.) and link(s)?

Readers may follow me and get in touch with me through my website www.rosemarymorris.co.uk and by e-mailing me at rosemarymorris.co.uk

And finally, where can readers buy a copy of your latest book?

False Pretences, published by Books We Love, is available as an e-publication and a paper back from www.amazon.co.uk and www.amazon.com

 

Many thanks, Rosemary!

 

Leave a Reply

