Self-publishing gave me a wonderful professional start. I’ll be forever grateful.

clarewriteslove

I’m going to have to post a response to this article  so that I can put it out of my head.

cropped-screen-shot-2016-08-17-at-8-46-33-pm1.pngYou have to forget writing for a living. 

The assertion that self-published authors ‘are going to be marketing for a living’, the inference being that they’ll do this instead of writing, is one I must disagree with. As a self-published author, I spent 95% of my work time writing. It was, and remains, the absolute bulk of what I did. I am a writer – writers write. However, I appreciate this isn’t always the norm. Self-publishing, like traditional publishing, has authors of all different types. To play devil’s advocate, marketing is an essential part of all business. I have many writer friends who spend a greater portion of their time marketing themselves and their books than I do – the thing is, the traditionally published authors are just as…

View original post 892 more words

Leave a Reply

